Follow

What are the different 'Security Roles' and privileges?

Security Roles provide advanced Console User management and finer granularity with regards to access to the Console application. All users will fall into one of the six Security roles; with the exception of the 'Global Admin', customers may create an unlimited number of users designated with one of the other five security types.

A user's Security Role is set when a User is Created and may be updated later through User Management. In order of decreasing privileges, the six Security Roles:

Note: Full Access = View, Create, Update & Delete Permissions

Global Admin

Full Access to All Objects & All Customer Settings. This is assigned to only one User. For security reasons, this User cannot be deleted, and only CitySourced staff change the user designated as 'Global Admin'.

System Admin

Full Access to All Objects & All Customer Settings.

User Admin

Full Access to All Objects, but limited access to Customer Settings, which includes access to only User, Team, and Developer Settings.

Power User

Full Access to All Objects, but no access to Customer Settings.

User

Create & Update Access to All Objects.

Viewer

View-Only Access to All Objects.

 


Disabled/ Deleted Users

A User can be 'Disabled' by selecting the 'Disabled?' check-box when first creating the User, or by updating the User profile by clicking on their Name and selecting 'Disable User' from the Action Menu button at the top right.

A disabled User will no longer have the ability to log-in to the Console. Their User Profile can still be visible in the Console, however that disabled User will receive an error message upon attempting to log-in and will no longer have access to the Console or its data.

Similarly through the Action Menu, the User can be deleted, in which case that User will no longer have access to the Console, and their User Profile will no longer appear within the Console.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

2 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Steve Boege

    Need to describe differences between enabled vs disabled.  What happens to requests assigned to someone who is later disabled.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Farah Abdou

    Thanks Steve! We'll add to the Article now. The information is also below:

    A User can be 'Disabled' by selecting the 'Disabled?' check-box when first creating the User, or by updating the User profile by clicking on their Name and selecting 'Disable User' from the Action Menu button at the top right.

    A disabled User will no longer have the ability to log-in to the Console. Their User Profile can still be visible in the Console, however that disabled User will receive an error message upon attempting to log-in and will no longer have access to the Console or its data.

    Similarly through the Action Menu, the User can be deleted, in which case that User will no longer have access to the Console, and their User Profile will no longer appear within the Console.




Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk